Owning a deadly weapon often comes with legal challenges. California has specific laws about the types of weapons that are legal and illegal, who can buy firearms and who can't, where you can carry a gun and where you can't, and much more. It can get quite confusing.
Here are a few frequently asked questions and answers about gun possession in our state:
Can teenagers legally buy guns?
Yes, according to the California Department of Justice, an eligible 18-year-old can buy a shotgun or rifle. However, you must be at least 21 to buy a handgun.
What documents do I need to buy a gun?
You will need to provide a photo ID such as your driver's license, plus proof that you live in California (such as a copy of your lease agreement or water bill). If you are a member of the U.S. military, you must provide your military ID and permanent duty station orders showing that you are stationed in California. If you aren't a citizen, you must provide documentation that proves you are in the country legally.
Unless you qualify for an exemption, you will also have to show your Handgun Safety Certificate.
Can I take the gun home with me the same day I buy it?
No. You must comply with California's 10-day waiting period. After the 10 days, you can take the weapon home.
How many guns can I own?
As many as you want. Currently, there is no limit on how many firearms a person can possess.
I have a permit to carry a concealed handgun in a different state. Does that give me the right to carry a concealed gun in California, too?
No, your permit isn't valid in California. You will have to obtain a Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW) license in this state.
I have other questions. Who can I ask?
A lawyer is an excellent resource to answer all your questions about California gun laws. He or she can provide the up-to-date and detailed legal guidance you need to navigate the complex, ever-changing regulations.